Vale duo not in Northern Ireland squad

Vale duo not in Northern Ireland squad

Port Vale players Ryan McGivern and Michael O’Connor are not included in Northern Ireland’s squad for the games against Scotland and Finland later this month.

Rather than the Vale duo, Northern Ireland have brought Jonny Evans, Shane Ferguson and Stuart Dallas back into to their squad.

While the news is a blow for McGivern and O’Connor’s International hopes, it is a boost to Vale as they look to move into the play-offs.

Meanwhile, Vale fans who wish to see O’Connor and McGivern in action for their country will be keen to see the pair picked for a summer friendly game.

The Northern Ireland FA have announced that they will take on 2022 World Cup hosts Qatar in a friendly at Crewe Alexandra on 31 May.

The fixture at Gresty Road in England will be used by Northern Ireland as preparation for the Euro 2016 qualifier against Romania in Belfast on 13 June.

If McGivern and O’Connor are included, it will give Vale fans an ideal opportunity to see them feature in a green shirt.

Northern Ireland squad:

Goalkeepers: R Carroll (Notts County), A Mannus (St Johnstone), M McGovern (Hamilton Academical).

Defenders: A Hughes (Brighton), C Baird (West Bromwich Albion), G McAuley (West Bromwich Albion), J Evans (Manchester United), C Cathcart (Watford), S Ferguson (Newcastle United) C McLaughlin (Fleetwood Town), L McCullough (Doncaster Rovers), P McNair (Manchester United).

Midfielders: S Davis (Southampton), C Brunt (West Bromwich Albion), S Clingan (Kilmarnock), C Evans (Blackburn Rovers), O Norwood (Reading), R McLaughlin (Liverpool), B Reeves (MK Dons), P McCourt (Brighton), S Dallas (Brentford).

Forwards: K Lafferty (Norwich City), N McGinn (Aberdeen), J Ward (Derby County), J Magennis (Kilmarnock), B McKay (Wigan Athletic), Will Grigg (MK Dons).