Neal and McGivern are released by Port Vale

Port Vale manager Rob Page has announced details of the club’s retained list at the end of the 2015-16 season.

A statement from the club says:

The following players are still under contract:
Jak Alnwick
Ryan Boot
Nathan Smith
Remie Streete
Ben Purkiss
Anthony Grant
Sam Kelly
Sam Foley
JJ Hooper

The following players have been offered new contracts:
Sam Johnson
Adam Yates
Carl Dickinson
Richard Duffy
Billy Reeves
Michael Brown
Michael O’Connor
Byron Moore
Enoch Andoh
Ryan Lloyd
Chris Birchall
Louis Dodds
AJ Leitch-Smith

The following players have been released:
Chris Neal
Lewis Bergin
Ryan McGivern
Chekaine Steele
Omar Haughton
Colin Daniel
Jonathan Kapend
Achille Campion
Theo Robinson

Retained list – feeling positive or negative?

Please wait for the vote to load…

Your view on the Port Vale retained list

Players leaving the Valiants





Colin Daniel – a free transfer signing from Mansfield Town, the wideman earned a reputation as a “supersub” with six goals during his stay with the Valiants.

Theo Robinson – the striker scored the club’s 6,000th league goal in a 4-1 win over Rochdale.

Achille Campion – the injury-plagued French striker managed one first-team goal – in a 2-2 draw with Bradford City. He has earned plaudits for his professionalism while at Vale Park.

Chris Neal – regarded as one of the club’s finest goalkeepers in recent years, Neal spent four years with the club totalling over 100 appearances and winning promotion in 2013.

Ryan McGivern – the defender became the club’s 17th full International when he was picked by Northern Ireland in 2014.