onevalefan.co.uk Present Past Specials About Forum
onevalefan.co.uk forum

Advert

Advert

End these tragic tuesdays

Bea Smith

I'm quite prepared to be shot down by some for this but the time has come for some radical change on our midweek home league performances on tuesdays.

My suggestions is to get rid of Tuesday home league games and play them on Wednesday. At worst it should make little or no difference, at best we might just find the extra day after the weekend helps us enormously.

Would more people attend ? Again, no reason why it should be worse gates, might just be better.

It may not be possible to change anything for the rest of this season, but plan to play next season midweek home games on a Wednesday and see if it helps.

Many years ago now, Vale played on Monday nights and gates were relatively good for midweek, but I cant see them going back to Sat /Mon games so Wednesday is probably the only possible way to change it.

Advert

As a Taxi driver I'd love all future games to be at 1am in a morning. I'd be worth a fortune. Lol

Being serious though is it just Football that has religiously stuck to 3pm kick offs on a Sat? The world is now a 24 hour 7 day a week society, so why has football remained in the dark ages. A lot of people now work Saturdays so perhaps you'd get more attending by playing on a different day.

As a Taxi driver I'd love all future games to be at 1am in a morning. I'd be worth a fortune. Lol

Being serious though is it just Football that has religiously stuck to 3pm kick offs on a Sat? The world is now a 24 hour 7 day a week society, so why has football remained in the dark ages. A lot of people now work Saturdays so perhaps you'd get more attending by playing on a different day.

Interesting stuff, though I was really only addressing Vale's home midweek league games, not so much thinking about any change to Saturdays.