Port Vale retained list 2020: seven players offered new contracts

In marked contrast to other clubs who have released a large number of players over the summer, Port Vale’s retained list for 2020 sees offers made to seven out of contract players.

Nathan SmithPort Vale retained list 2020: seven offered new deals

The seven players  to be offered new deals are:

  • David Amoo
  • Rhys Browne
  • Shaun Brisley
  • Cristian Montano
  • Tom Conlon
  • Mark Cullen
  • Nathan Smith

There is little surprise that Vale would like to maintain David Amoo, Cristian Montano, Tom Conlon, Mark Cullen and Nathan Smith. All have been regular picks in the starting eleven.

Perhaps the only minor surprises among the seven are Rhys Browne and Shaun Brisley. However, both were in the first-team before the season was ended prematurely and Vale have reasons for retaining both. Browne is still relatively young and has potential to get better. Brisley, while a veteran, did nothing wrong when playing and would act as cover if Nathan Smith should reject the offer and move on to a bigger club.

Kieran Kennedy

Port Vale retained list 2020: six are released

However, the club has also announced that six players will be released which are:

  • Will Atkinson
  • Callum Evans
  • Kieran Kennedy
  • Ryan Lloyd
  • Johnny Maddison
  • Jordan Archer

The only surprising names on this list are those of Jordan Archer who offered a glimpse of potential on his debut and Will Atkinson who has been a useful utility player. However, Kieran Kennedy was destined to leave after spending most of the season on loan at former club Wrexham while former Macclesfield duo Ryan Lloyd and Callum Evans have barely featured this season.

Luke JoyceJoyce joins those under contract

The Valiants have also confirmed that Luke Joyce has agreed an extension to his contract. It means that players under contract for next season are:

  • Scott Brown
  • Scott Burgess
  • Ryan Campbell-Gordon
  • Adam Crookes
  • James Gibbons
  • Alex Hurst
  • Leon Legge
  • Manny Oyeleke
  • Tom Pope
  • Dan Trickett-Smith
  • David Worrall
  • Luke Joyce

Please share this on: